Introduction

Hello! I am Joel, the Chef Owner of Rochor Thai. I am a Singaporean who loves everything about Thailand. This blog is started for me to share with everyone, especially Singaporeans, on my knowledge of Thai cuisine, and the differences with our Singapore cuisine.

I am 27 this year, and have never enjoyed Thai food at all until I went to Thailand in 2012. It was my first trip to Bangkok, and it opened my eyes to Thai culture and cuisine. The food is really different to what I had always eaten in Singapore. As I read up more and made more trips to Thailand to immerse myself with the culture, I started reading up on the history. In short, the history creates the culture, which is felt in the cuisine. Over the past couple of years, I have been learning the language and constantly reading up and understanding more about Thailand. Rochor Thai is born to share real authentic Thai cuisine to Singapore.

Most Singaporeans would link Thai food to the standard few dishes: Mango Salad, Pad Thai, Pineapple Rice, Tom Yum, Pandan Chicken, and Green Curry. However, the Thais do not really eat these. Rochor Thai aims to bring to our guests Thai dishes that Thais loves, and not what Singaporeans are comfortable with. It is a uphill task, but as long as the finances can keep us going, we would continue on.

Most of my posts will not be too detailed. The details would be posted only if I get enough requests to elaborate more.

I hope this blog will open the eyes of fellow Singaporeans to Thai cuisine, and to enjoy Thai food like a Thai.

Eat Thai like a Thai.

Disclaimer: When I use “most Singaporeans”, I am referring to a large percentage of my Singaporean friends. I am assuming that the sample size is large, and fair enough. Everything on this blog are my own personal thoughts, and understanding from various sources online, and on print. Photos are mostly taken off the internet on Google. If there are any objections to any pictures I ripped off the Internet, I would remove it as soon as I can. If there are any mistakes, do correct me. Thank you.

Leave a comment